Creative, Crafty, and a Little Crazy

NOT Just another Edublogs site…it's better

Tech Inequalities

January31

Tech Timeline

In reflecting over my history with tech in Unit 5, it is not surprising, because I’ve always known it, but to put it out there makes it real and sad…real sad.

The district gives each elementary classroom a standard tech package: 2 desktop PCs, a Smartboard with a projector, and your staff laptop. Now, here’s where the inequality comes into play…it comes down to money and support. I know, it’s not news, but it’s sad to see it and experience it. It is good to know that the lower income schools can use some Title I money to go toward tech that enhances learning, but when they don’t have parental support or money coming in from PTO, it makes it hard to get any “extras.”

It is also worth noting that not even the staff have equal access across schools. Each school should have a black and white copier and a color copier. All schools I’ve been to have the black and white copier, but not all have a color one. If I didn’t move schools, I wouldn’t have known what I was missing, and maybe that’s what they’re banking on. Most schools have a laminator, which seems like it should be a standard staple within a school, but my current school doesn’t have one. Past schools have either budgeted for it or have had the PTO support it. My second school had a Riso Machine (pronounced Rizzo, but unfortunately it can’t duplicate awesome first basemen like the name implies).  This machine was old but fabulous. It allowed us to copy on construction paper, something we can’t do now with our black and white copiers.

It is irritating, but it is something we have just come to accept and it doesn’t seem like we can really do anything to equalize access until politicians agree that education is a priority.

print

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
by posted under Uncategorized | 2 Comments »    
2 Comments to

“Tech Inequalities”

  1. February 3rd, 2019 at 9:16 pm      Reply bramanr Says:

    I agree with you Megan. I think all schools in the same school district should be equipt with the same technology for teachers to use. I actually have not heard of a Riso Machine. However, it makes me think of the ditto machine we had in the 90s where you actually cranked the handle to produce your copies in a ditto fashion. We were able to use construction paper in those. You would end up with blue fingers from the copy paper. Whew, those were the days. We have come a long way since then.


  2. February 5th, 2019 at 8:41 pm      Reply mbower89 Says:

    You make a good point on all schools not being created equal. I always feel that our school has everything we need, however I have nothing to really compare to as you mentioned. I feel like the PTO thing can be a tough topic since different schools need different things. Some teachers may prefer their PTO put the money towards a butterfly garden, while another school may prefer a Riso Machine (sounds really cool by the way). I definitely get that there is a huge difference between school’s PTO involvement and support which can absolutely make a huge difference in the funds that schools get. I know for instance, on teacher appreciation day that some schools have extravagant lunches and weeks planned for teachers, while others don’t go nearly to the extent as others. I always thought we were treated really great at our school, but was amazed to hear the things that other schools got at this time. Inequality is all around us and always will be though.


Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:


Skip to toolbar